I would like to consider myself a smart person. This clashes in my life though. Lately I've been noticing how people talk.In general. I live in the Pittsburgh area and we have our own dialect called "Pittsburghese". But I'm not here to talk about that. I'm here to talk about phrases that annoy me. To the level of nails on a chalkboard.
So here's my list of annoying phrases.
1. Just Sayin: Can someone explain to me what this means? I mean you put it after a statement to support the fact you made that statement? Why? It's obvious you just said that!!! Why do you need to re-enforce your point with such a lackluster annoying point? So you are telling me that you win the debate because you are "just sayin" (Like Goku?) and I have stats and facts to support my argument?
2. Same Difference: I hear this a lot. And again I'm confused as to what it means. In order for something to have the "Same Difference" wouldn't you have to have many different items that are somewhat similar for this to actually work? This is also a pretty bad way to claim defeat in any discussion.
3.No,Uh uh: Usually said after a question is asked. I hear this a lot working in the fast food industry. "Do you want fries with that?" No uh uh. I get what the customer is trying to say. But could you find a less lazy way to say it?
4. I generally stay away from "Could care less" and "couldn't care less" both statments again confuse me in the context people tend to use them.
Well okay I'm out of annoying phrases and I'm sure I have given my enemies enough fuel to annoy me for months to come. So until next time this is Branman signing out.
Saturday, July 14, 2012
Friday, December 9, 2011
Return to Blogging
When i closed my Xanga a few years ago, I promised to never again blog. Why? Multiple reasons. Nobody followed me, My writings became depressing, and I didn't have time. Why return now? Numerous reasons.
Ok something that bothers me. When a person walks out on their job, they say that they're quitting? It's more like giving up really.....or getting yourself fired. Quitting in my opinion is putting in your two weeks notice and finishing it out. Anything else is more like getting yourself fired. You can say you quit. But if you don't show up or leave in the middle of your shift without a notice, thats more like getting yourself fired.
I understand things not working out at your current job. Trust me I know. I'm currently the 2nd longest employee where I work. I've seen people come and go. I've thought about leaving, but with no real option for another job I haven't. I've gotten mad, angry,frusterated, and many other feelings about co-workers and customers (Expect my book "The Customer is always wrong, ALWAYS" to be published in 2015). But there are better ways to deal with the problem. Talk to your manager. I understand that LIFE happens. But really, there are better ways to deal with anger.
9 years of fast food has taught me that working in fast food you do one of 3 thinks. Start smoking, Start heavy drug usage or Find God. Maybe more people should take a step back an look at their llife and find a better way to deal with problems.
Ok something that bothers me. When a person walks out on their job, they say that they're quitting? It's more like giving up really.....or getting yourself fired. Quitting in my opinion is putting in your two weeks notice and finishing it out. Anything else is more like getting yourself fired. You can say you quit. But if you don't show up or leave in the middle of your shift without a notice, thats more like getting yourself fired.
I understand things not working out at your current job. Trust me I know. I'm currently the 2nd longest employee where I work. I've seen people come and go. I've thought about leaving, but with no real option for another job I haven't. I've gotten mad, angry,frusterated, and many other feelings about co-workers and customers (Expect my book "The Customer is always wrong, ALWAYS" to be published in 2015). But there are better ways to deal with the problem. Talk to your manager. I understand that LIFE happens. But really, there are better ways to deal with anger.
9 years of fast food has taught me that working in fast food you do one of 3 thinks. Start smoking, Start heavy drug usage or Find God. Maybe more people should take a step back an look at their llife and find a better way to deal with problems.
Thursday, November 8, 2007
it's that time again
Fall's here again. Meaning the weather cools down and the leaves change into awesome colors. I've been rather busy as of late. Working with the band,working at wendys, And traveling to visit old friends I havent' had time to update.
This past weekend I got to see one of my favorite bands of all time perform in Delaware. The newsboys still put on a great show!
My uncle leroy isnt' doing to well. I'm praying that God will take him peacefully by his side. My family is having a reunion on Sunday and I'll definatly be there.
This past weekend I got to see one of my favorite bands of all time perform in Delaware. The newsboys still put on a great show!
My uncle leroy isnt' doing to well. I'm praying that God will take him peacefully by his side. My family is having a reunion on Sunday and I'll definatly be there.
Friday, October 5, 2007
Interesting
I have finally created a blogspot. It seems everyday I find out about a new blog site or a new networking site. I've come across links here before but I never actually signed up until now. With my xanga(my main blogsite),myspace,facebook, and now this I'm going to be busy with updates. And I'll do my best not to copy and paste everything either.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
